Travel Bag Experts
Luggage Reviews14 min read

Best Clamshell Backpacks in 2026: 6 Picks Judged on How They Open

See our picks

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

A clamshell backpack does one thing differently, and that one thing is the whole point. The main compartment unzips all the way around, so the bag falls open into two flat halves like a suitcase on a hotel bed. Nothing is buried. You pack in layers you can see, and you pull out a shirt without excavating the rain jacket sitting on top of it.

The trouble is that hardly anyone labels it clearly. Of the six bags here, two listings spell out a full-wrap zip, two give an opening angle, and two say nothing at all about how the bag opens, even though they're travel packs of the kind that's usually built this way. So we've sorted the list by how much each seller actually commits to, and we've written down the signals you can read off a product photo when the seller won't tell you.


What Makes a Bag a Clamshell

Everything comes down to where the zip runs. A top loader has a short zip across the top and a deep bucket underneath, so the last thing in is the first thing out and everything else has to be lifted. A clamshell has a full-wrap zip that climbs one side, crosses the top and comes back down the other, splitting the bag into a lid and a base that lie flat side by side. Cotopaxi calls it a suitcase-style opening on both of its packs here, which is the plainest description any of these six sellers gives. Every other decision about a travel pack, torso length, liters, strap width, sits downstream of that one, and our review of the Osprey Porter 46 works through those choices on a clamshell pack.

Now the awkward part, and we'd rather put it up front than bury it. The two Cotopaxi Allpas say full-wrap in so many words. The Tolaccea puts "180° Open" in its product title and the Sirmaeed says it unfolds 90 to 180 degrees, which tells you how far the lid swings without saying where the zip runs. The Osprey Farpoint and the WITZMAN say nothing about the zip either way. We're not going to write "full-wrap opening" next to a bag whose maker never claimed one. What we can do is tell you what each listing does confirm, and hand you the checks to run on the photos yourself.

After the opening, capacity gets decided by an airline's rules, not by your packing list. Most carriers cap a cabin backpack around 40L in practice, which is why five of these six cluster around 40L, and why an expandable one is a 40L pack for the flight and a 50L pack for the drive home. Our guide to whether a 40L backpack counts as a carry-on runs that number against real airline limits. On a basic fare with no cabin allowance you want the smaller shape from our roundup of backpacks that fit as a personal item.

What a clamshell costs you is carry comfort, or at least it can. Splitting a bag down the middle means the back panel has to hold its shape on its own, without a frame sheet running the full height, and cheap versions sag once they're loaded. The fix is a proper harness, and only one bag here publishes an adjustable torso. Weight distribution matters more the longer you walk with it, which is the same argument we make in our picks for the best travel backpacks for men.

What to look forWhere you'll see itWhat it actually tells you
A zip line running up one side, across the top and down the otherFront or three-quarter product photoThe strongest visual proof. That geometry can only open into two halves
A photo of the bag lying open flat, packed, in two halvesImage gallery, usually shot two or threeSomebody staged that shot on purpose. Makers photograph the feature they're selling
"Suitcase-style", "lay-flat", "180 open", "clamshell"Product title or the bullet listA claim from the seller, which is the closest thing to a guarantee you'll get
Compression straps or a zipped mesh panel inside the lidInterior photoThose only exist to hold clothes against a lid that swings open flat
One short zip at the top, or a drawstring under a flapFront photoA top loader. You'll be digging, whatever the liter count says
Bullets that only list pockets and capacityThe listing copyNothing at all about the opening. Go back to the photos and read the zip
Bag laid open flat on a bed with folded clothes inside
A bag opened flat for packing. Photo: Timur Weber / Pexels. License

1. Cotopaxi Allpa 28L Travel Pack: The Format at Its Clearest

Editor's Pick · Best Overall

Cotopaxi Allpa 28L Travel Pack

A full-wrap zipper opening the listing names outright, in the smallest size here.

OpeningFull wrap
Capacity28L
Laptop15 in
Check Price

Cotopaxi describes the Allpa 28L as a suitcase-style pack with a full-wrap zipper opening, and that sentence is why it leads this list. You don't have to squint at a photo or read a review to work out what shape this bag is. The listing tells you, and the internal layout backs it up with one large, one medium and one small pocket, so the base half is already divided before you put anything in it.

The detail we'd point at is the lockable zippers on the main opening. A bag that unzips all the way around has a much longer mouth than a top loader, which is a lot of zip to leave unsecured in a hostel room or a station locker. Cotopaxi puts them on that opening, not on a small accessory pocket, which is the version that's worth having.

Three grab handles sit at the side, top and bottom, so the bag can be lifted whichever way it's lying, and a tuckable waist belt takes over for the walk between terminals. A pass-through strap slides over a roller bag handle, and four exterior webbing loops take whatever won't go inside. The 15-inch laptop sleeve is padded and fleece-lined, the bottle pocket outside is stretch mesh and takes up to a liter, and the shell is nylon. Cotopaxi lists it at 1.02 kilograms.

Twenty-eight liters is the honest limit. It's a long weekend rather than two weeks away, and 15 inches rules out the bigger work machines.

Strengths
  • The listing states a suitcase-style, full-wrap zipper opening, so you aren't guessing
  • Lockable zippers on the main opening itself, not just on a side pocket
  • Large, medium and small internal pockets divide the base before you pack it
  • Three grab handles plus a tuckable waist belt
  • Roller-bag pass-through strap and four exterior webbing loops
Weaknesses
  • 28L is the smallest capacity here, so a week of clothes is a stretch
  • Laptop sleeve stops at 15 inches
Our Take

This is the one we'd hand somebody who's never owned a clamshell and wants to see what the format actually does. Short trips, a 15-inch machine, and a zip you can lock.

2. Cotopaxi Allpa 42L Travel Pack: The Same Design at Carry-On Maximum

The 42L is the 28L's bigger sibling, and the two spec sheets read nearly identical. Same suitcase-style, full-wrap zipper opening stated on the listing, same lockable zippers on that opening, same large, medium and small internal pockets, same 15-inch padded and fleece-lined laptop sleeve, same stretch mesh bottle pocket. What changes is the volume, and 42L sits right at the top of what most airlines will wave through as a cabin bag.

At that size the tuckable straps stop being a nice extra. Both the shoulder harness and the hip belt fold away, which is what you want the moment a gate agent decides your bag is going in the hold, because loose straps are what gets torn off by a baggage belt. Cotopaxi says the harness is designed to move the weight onto the hip belt, and there are grab handles at the side, top and bottom so it can be hauled off a carousel from any angle.

The laptop ceiling is still 15 inches, which feels tight on a bag this large. Cotopaxi lists it at 1.4 kilograms.

Strengths
  • Full-wrap zipper opening stated on the listing, with lockable zippers, same as the 28L
  • 42L takes it to the top of carry-on size without changing the format
  • Shoulder straps and hip belt both tuck away before the bag gets checked
  • Grab handles at the side, top and bottom for carousel and overhead-bin retrieval
Weaknesses
  • Still capped at a 15-inch laptop despite the extra 14 liters
  • Fixed at 42L, with no expansion for the trip home
Our Take

Take this over the 28L if your trips run a week or more and you'd rather not check anything. Stay with the 28L if you mostly travel for three nights and hate carrying air.

Travelers with backpacks walking down a bright airport corridor
Backpacks in an airport corridor. Photo: Matthis Volquardsen / Pexels. License

3. Tolaccea Travel Backpack 40-50L: The Cheap Way Into the Format

Tolaccea puts "180° Open" in the product title itself, alongside the 40-50L expandable capacity and TSA approval, and the bullets describe dual-compartment main storage. That's an opening claim in writing, which puts this bag in the group that commits to something. Worth being precise about what it claims though: 180 degrees describes how far the lid swings back, not how far around the zip travels, so it's a slightly weaker statement than Cotopaxi's full-wrap wording.

The expansion is the practical feature. It runs from 40L to 50L, so it flies as a cabin bag and then absorbs whatever you bought while you were away. The title says 16-inch laptop and the bullets say the suspended inner compartment fits up to 15.6 inches, with side access so the laptop comes out without opening the main bag. The shell is RPET, a recycled polyester the listing describes as tear and water resistant, closed with lockable zippers. Tolaccea lists it at 3.6 pounds and says it's sized for the overhead bin, not under the seat.

The 3L wet-dry pocket is the real point of difference. Three liters holds a wet swimsuit and a towel sealed away from clean clothes, which you appreciate on the drive back from a beach. There's a side bottle pocket, a hidden quick-access pocket, a detachable waist belt and a luggage strap, and the convertible carry works three ways: backpack, briefcase by the side handle, or shoulder bag.

Strengths
  • "180° Open" stated in the product title
  • Expands from 40L to 50L, so it flies as carry-on and grows for the trip home
  • 3L wet-dry pocket keeps a swimsuit or towel away from clean clothes
  • Side-access laptop compartment for machines up to 15.6 inches
  • Lockable zippers on an RPET recycled shell
Weaknesses
  • "180° Open" describes the swing, not the zip path, so it's a softer claim than full-wrap
  • 3.6 pounds empty, heavier than either Cotopaxi
  • The title says 16 inches where the bullets say 15.6, so go by the smaller number
Our Take

The pick if you want the clamshell layout without the Cotopaxi outlay, and the one we'd take somewhere with a coastline.


Two backpacks resting on a rocky hilltop under a cloudy sky
Two backpacks set down on a rocky hilltop. Photo: Jędrzej Koralewski / Pexels. License

4. Osprey Farpoint 40 Extended Fit: The Only Adjustable Harness Here

Start with what Osprey actually puts in writing, because it's the first of the two bags whose listing never describes the opening. This Extended Fit version of the Farpoint 40 has a stowaway harness and hipbelt that tuck away while you travel and deploy for carrying, an adjustable torso length, a men's-specific fit for larger bodies with a hipbelt that fits up to 70-inch hips, a load-lifting frame and WingJacket compression. Osprey adds a direct-zip 3-1-1 pocket for liquids, a front pocket, water bottle pockets, a laptop sleeve Osprey's site rates for most laptops up to 16 inches, and compatibility with the Farpoint and Fairview Travel Daypack. It says the bag meets most carry-on size requirements. Nowhere does the listing say how the main compartment opens, so neither will we.

Inside, though, it lists dual internal compression straps and a large mesh interior lid pocket, and those are two of the signals in our photo table above. A lid pocket only makes sense on a lid that opens, so check the zip line in the gallery before you decide.

The harness is why it's on this list anyway. An adjustable torso means the hipbelt lands on your hips rather than your waist, and that's the difference between a 40L bag carried on your skeleton and one hanging off your shoulders for an hour of walking. Nothing else here publishes torso adjustment. The stowaway panel then swallows the whole harness at check-in, which protects the straps and stops the bag snagging on a belt. Osprey lists it at 1.53 kilograms.

Strengths
  • Adjustable torso length, the only one in this group
  • Stowaway harness and hipbelt tuck away completely before the bag is checked
  • Internal compression straps and a mesh lid pocket
  • Pairs with the Farpoint and Fairview Travel Daypack
Weaknesses
  • The listing never describes how the main compartment opens
  • The Amazon listing leaves out the laptop size, so go by Osprey's 16-inch figure
  • Sold as a men's fit for larger bodies, so check the torso range if that's not your build
Our Take

If you're walking any real distance with the bag on, the harness outweighs the liters, the pockets, and the price. Check the opening in the photos first, because the Amazon listing won't tell you.

Hiker with a blue backpack looking over a town from a grassy hill
A loaded backpack on a hill walk. Photo: Magno Coronel / Pexels. License

5. Sirmaeed Carry-On Backpack 35-45L: The Budget Entry

The Sirmaeed costs a fraction of what the Cotopaxis do, and its spec table still rates it for a 17-inch laptop, tied with the WITZMAN for the biggest screen here. The listing title puts capacity at 35L to 45L through a 5 cm expansion, though its description still says up to 40L to 50L, so plan around the lower figure. The shell is a water-resistant nylon, and there's a hidden anti-theft pocket for passports and IDs. Sirmaeed lists it at 1.08 kilograms, light for a bag that grows to 45L.

On the opening, the listing says the bag unfolds 90 to 180 degrees for quick security checks. Like the Tolaccea's wording, that tells you how far the bag swings open without saying the zip runs all the way around, so read the zip line in the photos before you decide what shape you're buying. There's also a strap for attaching it to a suitcase, padded adjustable shoulder straps, and side and top handles for carrying it like a duffel.

Sirmaeed backs it with what the listing calls lifetime after-sales service. That warranty language and the published specs are all you have to go on, and of those the expansion and the 17-inch rating are the ones doing the real work.

Strengths
  • Rated for a 17-inch laptop in the spec table
  • Expands 5 cm to move from 35L to 45L
  • Hidden anti-theft pocket for passports and IDs
  • 1.08 kilograms, and a strap to ride a suitcase handle
Weaknesses
  • "Unfolds 90-180 degrees" describes the swing, not the zip path
  • The 17-inch rating appears only in the spec table, not in the bullets
  • No harness detail beyond padded shoulder straps
  • The listing never divides up the interior, so there's no telling how the 35L to 45L is laid out
  • The title says 35L to 45L while the description still says up to 40L to 50L
Our Take

The one to buy if the budget is the binding constraint, or if your laptop is 17 inches and you want the expansion too. Check the photos yourself on this one.

6. WITZMAN 40L Convertible Travel Backpack: The Organized Front Panel

WITZMAN's front panel is the most divided of any bag here. One mesh zipper pocket, two open pockets, and three more open pockets tucked inside the lower front zipper compartment, with a large mesh zipper pocket in the main compartment on top of that. If you want a home for the chargers, the passport and the pen before anything else goes in, this is the layout that gives you one.

The shell is a sustainable nylon the listing describes as recycled, a material spec rather than a slogan, over a polyester lining. It holds 40L with a 17-inch laptop pocket and an iPad pocket, measures 19.5 by 12.6 by 9 inches, and weighs 1.6 kilograms. A removable shoulder strap that adjusts from 30 to 52 inches turns it into a duffel or shoulder bag, which sounds like a gimmick until you're in a taxi queue and would rather not put a pack back on.

Like the Osprey, the listing never describes the opening. It does mention internal compression straps in the main compartment, one of our photo signals, without saying whether they sit in a lid. Run the photo checks before you order.

Strengths
  • Six front pockets across two compartments, the most divided panel in this set
  • Recycled nylon shell, named on the listing as a material
  • 40L with a 17-inch laptop pocket
  • Removable 30 to 52 inch strap converts it to a duffel or shoulder bag
Weaknesses
  • The opening isn't described anywhere on the listing
  • No expansion, so 40L is 40L whatever you pick up on the trip
  • Front organization this heavy loads the panel furthest from your back, which is where you least want the weight
Our Take

For people who pack by category rather than by pile. The front panel is doing work here that a single stuff pocket never will.


The Clamshell We'd Pack

If the opening is the reason you're here, take one of the two Cotopaxi Allpas, the only listings that say full-wrap. Choosing between them is a size question more than anything else. The 28L is a long weekend and the 42L is two weeks at the ceiling of carry-on. The Tolaccea and the Sirmaeed are the next step down in certainty, with an opening angle in writing and room to expand.

Let the laptop knock out the rest. A 17-inch machine leaves you the WITZMAN and the Sirmaeed. The Tolaccea takes 15.6 inches, both Cotopaxis stop at 15, and Osprey's site rates its sleeve for most laptops up to 16 inches. That single number eliminates candidates faster than liters or price, so measure the machine before you shortlist the bag.

Then decide how far you're walking. Ten minutes from a taxi to a hotel and the harness barely registers, so buy on the opening and the pockets. An hour on foot with 40 liters up and the Osprey's adjustable torso outweighs any zip layout, because a hipbelt sitting in the wrong place ruins the day whatever the bag is made of.


At a Glance: Six Clamshells Compared

RankProductOpeningCapacityLaptopPrice
1
Best overall · Editor's pick
Full wrap, stated28L15 inCheck Price
2
Best max carry-on
Full wrap, stated42L15 inCheck Price
3
Best value
180 degree, stated40L to 50L15.6 inCheck Price
4
Best harness
Not stated40L16 inCheck Price
5
Best budget
90-180 degree, stated35L to 45L17 inCheck Price
6
Best organization
Not stated40L17 inCheck Price
Traveler sitting on a wooden floor beside a backpack and laid-out gear
Gear laid out beside a backpack before packing. Photo: Timur Weber / Pexels. License

FAQ

What is a clamshell backpack?

It's a backpack whose main compartment unzips all the way around, so the bag opens into two flat halves like a suitcase rather than a bucket you reach down into. The name comes from the shape it makes when it's open. Cotopaxi's own wording on both Allpa packs, "suitcase-style, full-wrap zipper opening", is about as literal a description as the category gets.

How do I tell if a backpack opens like a clamshell when the listing doesn't say?

Read the zip line in the product photos. If it runs up one side, across the top and back down the other, the bag can only open into two halves. Then look for a gallery shot of the bag lying flat and packed, and for compression straps or a zipped mesh panel inside the lid, since those exist only to hold clothes against a lid that swings open. A single short zip at the top means you're looking at a top loader.

Is a clamshell backpack better than a top-loading one?

For travel, we'd take the clamshell almost every time. Packing in visible layers and reaching anything without unloading the bag is worth more on a trip than the extra structure a top loader gets from having an unbroken back panel. Top loading still wins for hiking, where the bag sits upright all day and a frame matters more than access.

Do clamshell backpacks count as carry-on luggage?

Most of them are built for exactly that. The Cotopaxi Allpa 42L sits at the top of typical carry-on size, Osprey says the Farpoint 40 meets most carry-on size requirements, and the Tolaccea and Sirmaeed both list TSA approval alongside their expandable capacity. Check your own airline's dimensions before you fly, because an expandable bag measures differently once you've opened it up.

Does a clamshell opening help at airport security?

It usually makes the process shorter. A bag that opens flat gives an officer a clean view of both halves without anything being tipped out. The Tolaccea and the Sirmaeed both pitch their opening angle at faster security checks, though neither says the zip runs all the way around. A laptop still normally comes out unless the maker states a checkpoint-friendly laptop bay, and none of these six listings claims one.

What should I look for beyond the opening?

Laptop size first, since it eliminates the fastest, then the harness, then whether the main zip locks. Both Cotopaxi Allpas name lockable zippers on the main opening and the Tolaccea lists lockable zippers too, while only the Osprey publishes an adjustable torso. Expansion is the tiebreaker after that, and two of these six expand when you need the room.